Paying for Ecosystem Services, Part 5: Paying for itself, in the bottom line

Hey folks, back from a hiatus/vacation. Soon to come: photos of recreational value of ecosystem services of a family camping trip.

I’m doing a little catch-up with news from GoogleReader, my new Scoop.It Nature+Economics page, LinkedIn groups (my favorite is Business & Ecosystem Services Professionals), and newsletters in my inbox.

From the TEEBrief newsletter, I found out that PUMA’s CEO Jochen Zeitz had joined the TEEB team in an advisory capacity. And you know how you start linking… well, I found a speech of his from December of last year. The guy is really interesting. He wrote a book: Prayer, Profit and Principles with Benedictine monk, Anselm Grün. And he seems really committed to accounting for nature:

“The primary purpose of an Environmental Profit and Loss is to show managers and stakeholders where in an operation and its supply chain these impacts occur and their magnitude.”

The speech was made at a forum of The Prince’s Accounting for Sustainability Project (A4S)… and clicking away to find out more about His Royal Highness’ project, I find this lovely little gem video that features CEOs talking about why it’s not just a good thing, but good for business to account for nature. So there you go, business paying for ecosystem services because it would be foolish not to. Great message.